What Is the Buying Cycle?

by Thom Tracy

0 min read

The buying cycle, also known as the sales cycle, is a process that consumers and businesses go through when deciding on a purchase. Understanding this cycle is key to selling a product or service effectively.

Generally, the buying cycle is broken down into four stages: awareness, consideration, purchase and after-sale.

  • Awareness is when a consumer discovers your product for the first time.
  • Consideration occurs when consumers think about using your product as a solution to their problems.
  • Purchase is when a consumer chooses your product and actually buys it.
  • After-sale includes all follow-up support and considerations.

Each stage is critically important to launching and selling a successful product; think about each stage strategically.

References & Resources

Related Articles

What’s Changed in the New QuickBooks

The new QuickBooks Online bookkeeping software has gone through quite a few changes. As…

Read more

Developing and Using a Continuous Improvement Process Plan

Successful businesses survive and thrive because they consistently strive for excellence. They…

Read more

Powering Small Business Prosperity in the “Global Village”

In 1962, Marshall McLuhan predicted the emergence of a “global village” brought…

Read more