What Do PST and TVQ/QST Stand for?

by Craig Anthony

0 min read

The acronyms PST and TVQ/QST refer to the provincial equivalents of the goods and services tax. PST stands for provincial sales tax, which is the applicable tax in the provinces that do not participate in the harmonized sales tax regime but still have provincial taxes. The provinces with PST are British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan.

TVQ/QST stands for Taxe de Vente du Québec/Quebec Sales Tax. The Quebec regime is unique because it is largely harmonized with the federal GST but the provincial entity, Revenu Québec, is in charge of administering both taxes in the province.

Alberta is the only province without a sales tax.

References & Resources

Related Articles

Provincial Sales Tax And The Small Business Owner

If you do business in many parts of Canada, you must remit…

Read more

How Provincial Sales Tax (PST, GST, HST) Apply to a Small Business Owner

Three different types of sales taxes are levied in Canada. A business…

Read more

New Developments in Taxation for Corporations in Alberta

As of 2017, Alberta plans to lower its small business tax rate…

Read more